CAE (the Centre of Adult Education) has been delivering short courses in the Melbourne metro and surrounding regions for 75 years. CAE is known for delivering quality short courses, book groups, language programs and a range of adult learning options. 

At the CAE we believe it’s important to keep growing and learning, to upskill or to learn something new with our on-site and online short courses. We deliver on-site courses across three locations: CBD City Campus, the Ola Cohn Centre and Lilydale Lakeside. CAE also delivers a range of courses online.  

Visit to find out more.  


Clunes Booktown

Since 2007Clunes Booktown has been an annual event on the literary calendar. More than 60 book traders from around Australia bring their publishing stock to the goldfields town in central Victoria and set up shop for the weekend. The annual festival includes street entertainment, food and wine, music, and writers’ talks. Even in 2020 and 2021, during the lockdown, Clunes Booktown has managed to carry on, transferring several of their discussion events to online forums. One of these panels included CAE Book Groups, with our retail partner Readings.   


Stella logo

The Stella Prize is a major literary award celebrating Australian women’s writing, and championing diversity and cultural change. The prize is named after one of Australia’s iconic female authors, Stella Maria Sarah ‘Miles’ Franklin, and was awarded for the first time in 2013. Both nonfiction and fiction books by Australian women are eligible for entry. CAE Book Groups catalogue features a number of Stella Prize shortlisted books and winners. 


Miles Franklin Award

The Miles Franklin Award is Australia’s most prestigious literature prize. Established through the will of My Brilliant Career author, the prize is awarded annually to a novel of the highest literary merit which presents Australian life in any of its phases. First presented in 1957, the Award helps to foster uniquely Australian literature. Miles Franklin believed that “Without an indigenous literature, people can remain alien in their own soil.”  She also had first-hand experience of struggling to make a living as a writer and was the beneficiary of two literary prizes herself. CAE Book Groups catalogue features a number of Miles Franklin shortlisted books and winners. 


The Australian Book Industry Awards

The Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) celebrate the achievements of authors and publishers in bringing Australian books to readers. The Awards are a way to say hooray to the successes in making books and being in the book business. Winners for the Australian Book Industry Awards are determined through a process of selection, first by the ABIA Academy of more than 200 industry professionals, and then a shortlist and winners are chosen by our Judging Panels. CAE Book Groups catalogue features a number of ABIA shortlisted books and winners.